Healthy Times

LFCHD Employee Newsletter

Pollack and Guinn named 2015 Public Health Heroes

Board of Health Chair Scott White and Commissioner of Health Dr. Rice Leach present the 2015 Public Health Hero Awards to Dr. Susan Pollack and Marian F. Guinn.

The Lexington-Fayette County Health Department’s Board of Health has selected Dr. Susan Pollack and Marian F. Guinn as the 2015 Public Health Heroes. The award is given annually to individuals who have demonstrated their dedication to improving the health of Lexington residents. The awards are given each April as part of National Public Health Week (April 6-12).

Pollack is a pediatrician and strong advocate for injury prevention and safety for children of all ages, including safe sleeping areas for infants, car seat safety, substance abuse in children and head protection for bicyclists, skateboarders and ATV riders. She frequently assists the Child Care Health Consultant Program with training to assure safety for children in day care centers. Pollack is the coordinator of the Pediatric Adolescent Injury Prevention Program at the University of Kentucky Injury and Prevention Research Center, an assistant professor in the UK Department of Pediatrics and the UK Department of Preventive Medicine. She serves on the Child Fatality Review committee in Fayette County and on the state level through the Department for Public Health.

Guinn is the CEO of God’s Pantry Food Bank, a Feeding America affiliate that distributes more than 2 million pounds of food monthly to nearly 400 non-profits in 50 central and eastern Kentucky counties. Of the 26 million pounds of food provided last year, one-third was fresh produce as Guinn believes all Kentuckians should have access to enough healthy, nutritious food to lead healthy lives. Guinn also worked with other food banks to receive $1.2 million over two years from the state budget for Farms to Food Banks, a program that provides fresh produce to hungry families while providing an economic boost for Kentucky’s farmers.

Pollack and Guinn were recognized at the April 13 Board of Health meeting. They will also be honored at the April 16 Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council meeting.

Past winners include the Rev. Willis Polk and baby Health Service (2014), Anita Courtney and Teens Against Tobacco Use (2013); Vickie Blevins and Jay McChord (2013); Jill Chenault-Wilson and Dr. Malkanthie McCormick (2011); Dr. Jay Perman (2010); the Lexington Lions Club (2009); Dr. David Stevens and the late Dr. Doane Fischer (2008); Dr. Ellen Hahn, Mary Alice Pratt and Therese Moseley (2007); Dr. Andrew Moore and Rosa Martin (2006); Jan Brucato and Dragana Zaimovic (2005); and Dr. John Michael Moore, Ellen Parks and Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government (2004). Dr. Robert Lam received a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.